28
Jan
08

Spotlight: Jessica Mattingly

Who


Jessica Mattingly is a 29 year-old doctoral student in clinical psychology from Chicago, IL

Areas of intertest:
Well, professionally speaking, I plan to work with survivors of sexual violence with a treatment method called ‘dialectical behavior therapy’. I am interested in doing outreach to promote awareness of the systemic issues associated with sexual violence in our society. I also hope to work with classical musicians on performance enhancement and performance anxiety (I’m a *retired* musician myself). I’m passionate about teaching as well, so maybe a future gig as an adjunct professor would be cool, too.

My areas of interest craft-wise are always changing. Right now I’m learning to spin yarn on a wheel vs. on a drop spindle. I really want to expand my techniques with spinning to make more funky and eclectic art yarns. I’m also starting to explore dying fibers.

I have plans for the distant future to start carding my own fiber batts and also take a class in glass fusing. I think it’s important to always have in mind where you would like to go next with what you’re doing, regardless of how far ahead in the future it might be.

Why do you create?
I have discovered that I am a creative individual whose emotions seem to demand a larger capacity than my physical body can hold. The creative process enables me to release some of that emotional intensity I experience. It’s a calming, relaxing, and soothing activity for me. It keeps me sane 😀

Favourite materials:
Anything tangible! But right now I’m pretty obsessed with glass cabs and wool roving and batts.

Source of inspiration:
My inspiration comes from whatever I’m currently experiencing emotionally or cognitively. I’m the oldest of eight, and I think of them often when I’m making something.

Your atelier/workspace :
I create in my dining room. So, my dining room is really a ‘work room’. It’s over run with beads, paper, glue, wool, and glass. My spinning wheel is in my living room.


Jessica’s beautiful creations can be found on jessprkle.etsy.com and jessprkle.dawanda.com
Jessica on Flickr

Jessica is offering 10% off your next purchase, don’t forget to mention “Crafters HQ” in the “notes to seller” at checkout.

5 Responses to “Spotlight: Jessica Mattingly”


  1. January 28, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Thanks so much for this opportunity! I’m thrilled with how it turned out! Please offer your blog readers 10% off their next purchase when they mention “Crafters HQ” in the “notes to seller” at checkout 😀
    *jes*

  2. January 28, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Just stumbled upon your blog. I LOVE IT!!! I’ll be stopping by more often. THANKS!!

  3. 3 Liz
    January 28, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    great interview! I love Jess’s spinning style and bold jewelry designs.

  4. February 23, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Awesome feature! I “know” Jessica’s work from Etsy, and saw that she was featured here. Cool!

    Sarah 🙂

  5. August 10, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Jessica, I have seen you before, your work amazes me, I think it is so fun that you are always learning more things to add to your talents. I like to here the personality behind the art. fun feature thanks.

    Julie


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Story Quilt 3 zipper zip pouch digital pdf sewing pattern, tutorial

Angel blanket for Joanie

Story Quilt double zipper long purse sewing pattern in Etsy

More Photos

Events

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

